Underform Awards Recognize Scholarly and Arts Achievements

The 2021 Underform Awards ceremony was held both in-person - as Vth form award winners and their advisors gathered in the Chelsea Morrison Theater - and virtually around the world as we honored underformers for their outstanding achievements and dedication to academics, student life, and the arts.

Academic Dean Jarratt Clarke kicked off the ceremony announcing the 13 award winners from the Class of 2022, recognizing their scholastic achievement and contributions to school life:
  • Lily Herman - Elmira College Key
  • James Deng - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Merit Award in Math and Science 
  • Freddy Hamilton - The University of Rochester George Eastman Young Leaders Award
  • Gale Zhang - University of Rochester/Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology
  • Elijah Grant-Pereira - University of Rochester/Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award in Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Caitlyn Rodeo - University of Rochester Science Award
  • Precious Esielem - The Kenyon Book Award
  • Aly Rosenzweig - The Smith College Book Award
  • Stephen Peschel - The Wesleyan Book Award
  • Abigail Ainley - The Bates College Book Award
  • Evelynn Najork - The Williams College Book Award
  • Adam Beck - Aurelian Honors Society Book Award, Yale University
  • Tracy He - The Amherst College Book Award
English Department Chair Lewis Feuer also announced this year's winner of the Underform Poetry Prize. Students were invited to share their poetry portfolios, and Hannah Coon '23 was recognized for her creative expression and ability to paint pictures with her words.

Arts awards followed, and Sarah MacWright, department chair, invited eight VIth form students to join her on stage to receive arts awards voted upon by the art department faculty. Talented students were recognized for their contributions in every area of creative academic arts:
  • Clara Abreu - Your warmth and care for others have created an invaluable sense of community among our dancers. We recognize you today in Dance.
  • Caitlyn Rodeo - You love music, and you have dedicated yourself to your growth. For these reasons, we honor you today in Vocal Music.
  • Evelynn Najork - Your images delight and challenge those who are lucky enough to see them. We recognize you in Photography.
  • Chelsea Sinclair - You are a bright light, bringing joy and curiosity into the studio. We honor you in the field of Ceramics.
  • Lily Herman - Your dedication, enthusiasm, and positive attitude inspire us. We applaud your work in Instrumental Music.
  • Charlotte Davis - Your commitment to your art is best reflected in your delightful stop-motion animations. We honor you in Drawing and Painting.
  • Anya Rule - You are patient, clear, and skillful as a stage manager and technician. We are so pleased to honor you in Technical Theater.
  • Stephen Peschel - We admire your exploration of what it means to be present and alive in the characters you create. Thank you for taking the leap to the stage. We honor your achievements in Theater.
To conclude the ceremony, Mr. Casertano named the 2021 Founders' Prize Winner, Pearson Latse '22.  Established by Bradford Mills ’44, this prize honors the qualities that Millbrook’s founders, Edward and Lucy Pulling, sought to inspire in their students. It is given annually, by vote of the full faculty, to a member of the Vth form who has displayed an enthusiasm for life’s challenges, a creative and innovative spirit, and a commitment to the community and to team play. Along with receiving a cup and having his or her name listed on a permanent trophy, the Founders’ Prize winner receives a scholarship to NOLS, Outward Bound, or a similar program for the summer following their Vth form year.

Congratulations to Pearson and to all of the day's award-winners.
Date Posted Arrow down
  • Alice Lamptey
    Congratulations to Pearson Latse my “all rounder” nephew. So so proud of you. Love you !!