My Millbrook

1931 Society

The 1931 Society was established in memory of Millbrook School’s founders and the year of the school’s founding; it honors those who have already made planned gift provisions for the school. As we look to the future, there are a number of opportunities for members of the Millbrook family to join the 1931 Society and to help build the school’s endowment through tax deductible gift arrangements. They are listed below.

The simplest and most traditional way is through a bequest under your will, either as a specific sum, a specific percentage of your estate, or the rest and remainder of your estate after debts, taxes, expenses, and specific bequests to your heirs.
In addition, there are a number of instruments you could utilize to benefit you and your family, as well as Millbrook School. With many of these vehicles, you can have the fun and satisfaction of seeing your gift go to work for you and for Millbrook within a very short time.

Charitable Remainder Trust
You might consider a charitable remainder trust with Millbrook as the beneficiary. A charitable remainder trust is created when you irrevocably transfer cash, securities, or other property to a trustee, who may be yourself, the school, a bank, or another individual. This trust provides you with income during your lifetime. Upon termination of the trust, the principal would pass on to Millbrook.
Charitable Lead Trust
A charitable lead trust might be the appropriate vehicle for you. A charitable lead trust provides for the payment of income to Millbrook and /or charitable beneficiaries selected by you for a period of years. Upon the expiration of the trust, the remainder reverts to you or to members of your family, as you choose.
Other Planned Giving Options
You might also consider naming Millbrook a beneficiary of the remainder of a pension fund or an IRA; transferring ownership of a life insurance policy to Millbrook; or donating art, a home, or other property to the school.
We hope you will include Millbrook when you are considering your lifelong financial planning priorities.
If you would like to talk further about these opportunities, please contact Assistant to the Headmaster for External Affairs Robert Anthony ’65 (845-677-6752 or at any time.

Paying it Forward - Millbrook Receives Largest Bequest in the School's History

James W. Laird ’65 was taught by his father early on about the importance of giving back to those institutions and people who make a difference in one’s life.

In today’s world we often refer to a legacy bequest as “paying it forward.” When Jim sadly died in April 2020 at his home in Florida, we learned that he left a gift of $5 million to help endow Millbrook’s Financial Aid Program. As a result, future families and generations of students will be the fortunate recipients of his generosity.

During his life Jim engaged in numerous philanthropic causes, including musical, theatrical, and social organizations. In today’s Millbrook lexicon, Jim certainly subscribed to the Millbrook value of “leaving things better than we found them.” While at Millbrook, Jim figured out ways to help serve the school community. He worked tirelessly with Mrs. Grove and his fellow students to stage the perennially popular book fair in the Flagler Memorial Library. His experience as a member of the Library Community Service Committee led to his lifelong love of reading.

Jim did not graduate from Millbrook as he left after his Vth form year. In the ensuing years, he kept the school on his radar, and when he returned to campus in June 2019, he was immediately struck by the school’s growth and development since his days on campus.

All of us who care about Millbrook are grateful to Jim for his generosity. His gift sets a high standard for ensuring excellence on campus.

1931 Society Members

List of 1 items.

  • Current Members

    Mr. William B. Allan ’55 
    Mr. Stephen C. Allen '67
    Mr. Alan H. Anderson, Jr. '60
    Mr. Robert W. Anthony ’65 
    Dr. David Babbott ’45 
    Mr. Dudley R. Bahlman ’71 
    Mr. Dell Battler '56
    Mr. Peter C. Blenk '64
    Mr. Jesse M. Bontecou ’44 
    Mr. Charles H. Boynton ’57 
    Mrs. Jean Bray
    Mr. David J. Callard 
    Cpt. James M. Cannon IV, USN ’71 
    Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Cart 
    Mark Cartland '81
    Mr. Geoffrey R. Chester ’71 
    Mr. Daniel S. Cohen ’86 
    Mr. Farnham F. Collins '53
    Mr. George N. Cowen, Jr. ’65 
    Mr. Thomas S. Cox ’62 
    Mr. William L. Crossman ’74  
    Mr. George W. Cutting III ’77
    Mrs. Lucy Cutting
    Dr. Richard W. Darrell M.D. '51  
    Mr. B. William Dudley ’58 
    Mr. Peter S. Duncan ’69 
    Mr. Andrew W. Elder ’93 
    Mr. Theodore R. Elliot '62
    Dr. David W. Fentress, Jr. ’66 
    Mr. John V. Frank ’56 
    Mrs. E. Stack Gately 
    Mr. John S. Gordon ’62 
    Mr. William S. Gray '07
    Mrs. Cynthia C. Gray 
    Miss Victoria C. Gray '11
    Mr. Everest D. Haight, Jr. ’54 
    Mr. Henry F. Harris 
    Dr. David Hayes ’44 
    Mr. James F. Hejduk 
    Mr. David D. Holbrook ’56 
    Mr. Peter M. Holbrook '65
    Mr. Bruce B. Huber ’47 
    Mr. Michael W. Huber ’45 
    Dr. and Mrs. Peter E. Jackson ’58  
    Mr. Donald M. Kerr ’64 
    Mr. Stuart F. Kirkpatrick ’69 
    Mrs. Eilene R. Kondysar '81
    Mr. Anthony R. Lantz ’70 
    Mr. Day Lee ’40 
    Mr. Eric A. Levine 
    Dr. and Mrs. Daniel A. Lindley, Jr. ’51 
    Dr. Thomas E. Lovejoy '59 
    Mr. Stuart S. Lovejoy ’73 
    Mr. Frederick K. Lowell ’67 
    Mr. Watson Lowery, Jr. ’65 
    Mr. John G. MacKenzie ’46 
    Mr. and Mrs. Charles L. Merin 
    Mr. D. Fell Merwin ’78 
    Mr. Peter G. Miller ’55 
    Mr. Bradford Mills ’44 
    Mr. Burnham Moffat ’44
    Mr. Peter Morrison '63  
    Mr. Burton T. Mowbray '72
    Mr. Griffin W. Okie ’62 
    Ms. Patricia Paterson 
    Mr. Sherman Peale ’52 
    Mr. William H. Peck III ’64 
    Mr. E. Norman Peterson, Jr. ’49 
    Ms. Hannah T. Petri ’97 
    Mr. Frank W. Pine '60
    Mr. Sumner Pingree III ’71 
    Mr. Alexander Podmaniczky ’72 
    Mr. and Mrs. Thomas L. Pulling 
    Mr. Thomas A. Reed ’60 
    Mr. John Field Reichardt ’67 
    Mr. Steven D. Riggs ’64 
    Mr. Gilbert P. Schafer III ’80 
    Dr. Lacey B. Smith ’40 
    Mr. Michael M. Smith ’53 
    Mr. Theodore S. Smith, Jr. ’55 
    Mr. Paul M. Solomon ’61 
    Mr. Thomas J. Sorrentino ’69 
    Mr. Robert Stanton 
    Mr. and Mrs. Edward R. Stehle
    Mr. Andrew R. Supplee ’57 
    Mr. Michael Thompson 
    Mr. Webster B. Todd, Jr. ’56 
    Mr. Zachary Treadwell '93 and and Mrs. Langka Domberger-Treadwell '90
    Mr. C. Dana White ’60 
    Mr. Harold T. White III ’66 
    Mr. John A. Woodcock ’57 
    Mr. William A. Woodcock '60